Customer reviews for Swann DVR9-4200 9 Channel 960H Digital Video Recorder and 4 x PRO-642 Cameras

Swann DVR9-4200 9 Channel 960H Digital Video Recorder and 4 x PRO-642 Cameras

9 Channel 960H Digital Video Recorder with pre-installed 1TB HDD / 4 x 700 TVL line Cameras / H.264 latest recording technology / HDMI Output / Web and Smartphone remote viewing / Transfer incidents to USB flash drive
Overall rating:
4.205 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(44 reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 44 reviews
5 Stars
20
4 Stars
20
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
3
39 out of 4489%of reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for DVR9-4200 9 Channel 960H Digital Video Recorder and 4 x PRO-642 Cameras
Review 1 for DVR9-4200 9 Channel 960H Digital Video Recorder and 4 x PRO-642 Cameras
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Installation hints on this system.

PostedDecember 5, 2013
Customer avatar
From:West Chester, PA, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I want to share my installation experience with those who are about to purchase this system, hopefully to help the person doing the actual installation of the hardware.
1. The cameras have a small box attached to the cable called a joystick, which is used to make some specific camera settings that are not available via the DVR menu system. The settings made via the joystick are stored in the camera itself, not within the DVR, so there is no way to have a record of these settings other than writing them down. If you move the camera from one location to another, the settings in the camera stay with the camera.
2. Camera settings made via the DVR menu system are stored within the DVR and can be exported to a flash drive via the USB port.
3. Before mounting any of the cameras, set the system up in a room, or the basement, then attach all of the connectors for the BNC video cables and power supplies. Now use the DVR menu system to insure each camera works using the default settings.
4. Refer to the manual on using the DVR and joystick settings.
5. For good night time vision, I was able to make the camera joystick settings in my low lit basement, enabling the night vision for the cameras. Then I was able to easily get to the joystick since it was exposed and not bundled up in the rafters, walls or mounting box, and made the appropriate settings such as Noise Reduction (which is absolutely necessary to adjust to reduce the “snowflake” effect and false triggering) and other settings for it not available in the DVR menu. This made for a very clear night vision image which could never be done after the hardware is fully enclosed. In reality, the joystick controls should be located at the DVR connection end, where it would be easily accessible, instead of at the camera end of the cabling.
6. After setting the joystick settings for night vision on all cameras, then I physically mounted them, then I was able to fine tune the other settings for each camera via the DVR menu settings for night vision and for daylight vision.
7. I use the system in conjunction with my floodlights at night, so I’m able to get a very good image of whatever or whoever trips the floodlights. Without the floodlights, the night vision is limited to around 25 feet with a limited viewing angle.
8. Daytime images are very good, but can vary from camera to camera. Some are excellent, some are just good.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for DVR9-4200 9 Channel 960H Digital Video Recorder and 4 x PRO-642 Cameras
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst Night Vision Ever

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Customer avatar
From:Des Moines, IA, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Expertise:Expert
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Bought this system thinking it would be DVD quality since that is what Swan advertises. Daytime video is just OK I had a lot of pexilating going on little flash's of red in area's. Night time don't expect to see anything other than it looks like a blizzard is going on from all the noise in the picture I blame this on the Camera's not so much the DVR. They need to pair up this DVR with some better Camera's. Needless to say I uninstalled everything and back it went. Now on to a HD system try that.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for DVR9-4200 9 Channel 960H Digital Video Recorder and 4 x PRO-642 Cameras
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Can't beat the price

PostedOctober 21, 2013
Customer avatar
From:Texas, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Expertise:Beginner
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simple installation, lots of features. Only 2 complaints are that the cameras detect motion that isn't there so it is using up memory(I even played with the sensitivity settings), and that you can only play back 1 camera at a time. I would prefer to be able to playback all 4 cameras on the quad screen at 1 time. I also bought a battery back-up for this system and can view the cameras from my bedroom tv so that I can turn it on from my bed and see what's going on outside.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for DVR9-4200 9 Channel 960H Digital Video Recorder and 4 x PRO-642 Cameras
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good quality, everything you need is included

PostedSeptember 1, 2013
Customer avatar
From:Los Angeles, CA
Expertise:Intermediate
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'd put off buying a security camera system for my home, but a discounted price at Best Buy prompted me to jump in. The features and quality looked too good to be true, but it turns out it's not - it's truly a good quality system that's remarkably easy to install. The hardest thing is running the included 60-foot cables from the DVR location to the cameras.
I started with the DVR, since my primary desire was to have a system I could monitor from my mobile devices. I installed the unit, plugged it into my router, set the DMZ on the router to allow Internet traffic to my DVR and presto, I was online viewing the DVR from my iPhone and iPad.
Cameras were a bit more challenging. First I scouted my property and decided on optimal locations, also realizing I needed one additional wide angle camera (Swann PRO-761, also purchased from Best Buy). Next I tested each camera and cable - the instructions were very clear it's important to do this BEFORE installing and routing wires. It DOES help to be an experienced do-it-yourselfer to install these, at least in my house. There's limited space in my attic where the wires would be run, and the roof slopes down to a too-narrow place where the cameras would mount. I knew the wires would have to be pulled from inside from the outside after pushing a fair amount of wire through a small opening - this allowed wires to be hooked with a wire coathanger. All in all, this was a piece of cake. I was even able to use my iPhone while standing on the ladder to adjust each of the cameras.
Now everyone will be able to install this themselves, but Swann has made it about as easy as possible for a moderately experienced do-it-yourselfer to complete installation in a day.
The only criticism at this point is I don't use a PC, only a Mac. The log in and change password options aren't available to me on the Mac version of the Swann MyDVR program. Also, the image quality isn't great on the mobile app, probably to save bandwidth. Even the MyDVR program shows a non-optimal image, but once identifying a segment of interest, the digital download is full resolution.
Summary: Top-notch, excellent construction quality, very good image quality. and completely intuitive installation. A great buy.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for DVR9-4200 9 Channel 960H Digital Video Recorder and 4 x PRO-642 Cameras
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great system for quality and price

PostedAugust 31, 2013
Customer avatar
From:Philadelphia, PA, USA
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The 960H system is a great improvement over the lower quality and cost system it replaced. Picture quality and set up options cover just about everything you need for surveillance. 1 TB storage is awesome over the 500GB of my last system. The 9ch capability should cover multiple camera locations for most homeowners. Internet setup is intuitive. Computer set up works well, just follow the guides, which are well written. Test your DVR camera configuration until you are satisfied is key. Motion detection and area takes some adjusting. Email notification feature is neat. See separate 642 camera review. 4 came with the system
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for DVR9-4200 9 Channel 960H Digital Video Recorder and 4 x PRO-642 Cameras
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My review after only 5 days of use!

PostedAugust 28, 2013
Customer avatar
From:Philadelphia, PA, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Expertise:Beginner
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this 9 channel 4 camera 960H kit from Best Buy on August 22, 2013. I needed an additional 100' BNC cable for one camera which I ordered from Amazon that night. the Cable ( swann brand 100' BNC) arrived the next day. I started to install on friday august 23, 2013 by cleaning a location for my swann DVR and Monitor and running my wires.
I waited to install the cameras until Saturday morning (August 24, 2012) because I did not want any attention to what I was doing. I installed and aimed the cameras buy judging and then went in to start up the DVR and install the MyDVR software on the PC. I was surprised how quickly everything was running. I have the software on the pc so I can make changes and monitor on that, I also connected an additional monitor to the Swann DVR with a VGA cable. This monitor is always on. I also connected my HD TV to the swann DVR via the HDMI output so I can easily see the video feed on the TV If I need to. I then attempted to get the mobile app running. It worked on my local network with the auto DNS when my phone (iphone 5) was connected via wifi but not when the phone was on the 4g network. This is due to the non-static nature of comcast (xfinity). They want you to buy their security system. SO I followed the instructions in the swann manual and went to the swann specific website listed in the instructions and created an account for swann dvr customers and now have a static IP DNS to use. I then swithced the network setting on the swann DVR to static and put the swann issued static ip and the server port number into the iphone app and presto I have a mobile security system.
The user interface on the DVR with the supplied mouse when viewed on the dedicated monitor is easy and intuitive. The MyDVR software on the pc is as well. personally I like using the interface on the DVR directly but that's personal preference.
The 9 channel DVR has 1 TB for recording. after 5 days of recording using motion detection on 4 cameras, only 180MB is used. the motion detection is superb; however, small animals may or may not set it off if the scene is busy. meaning trees and bushes moving; indoors it's flawless.
The image quality is very good on the dedicated monitor and better on the HD TV. But on the computer via the MyDVR software it is not as good; however, this could be my pc since its old and running vista!
The night vision is very good as well. My yard is small about 40' x 40' and one camera is mounted about 12' high, and I can easily see small details in my yard in total darkness.
I wish I had purchased the 9 Channel 960 H DVR with 8 cameras because I just purchased another 960H camera from Best Buy.
Regardless, for the price of this unit it has met and exceeded my expectations. Its not an HD image and does not claim to be. It is much better than the standard resolution image my sister has on her MLT system.
After much research, this is the best deal for a security system that "approaches" an HD system. My next camera addition is going to be the Swann pro 752 PTZ.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for DVR9-4200 9 Channel 960H Digital Video Recorder and 4 x PRO-642 Cameras
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product was easy to set up..

PostedAugust 14, 2013
Customer avatar
From:Utica, NY, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It was easy to set up...and I have already bought add on cameras for it..the video quality is awesome, especially the the vision..The only problem I have is trying to get it to work on my IPhone and IPad.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for DVR9-4200 9 Channel 960H Digital Video Recorder and 4 x PRO-642 Cameras
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

PostedAugust 14, 2013
Customer avatar
From:UK
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Expertise:Expert
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased the DVR9-4200 that came as a kit with 4 Pro 642 Cameras. All items were well packed and easy to unpack onto a table, setting them all up to test before installation was easy and all products work ok. The only bit that took time was plugging in the BNC cables into the DVR, you do need small fingers.Setting up advanced options like DDNS , IPAD, Windows and smart phone monitoring was easier then I expected.
Image quality is good and the picture quality is great when plugged into a HD TV.
I can fully recommend this product for its quality, functionality and price.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for DVR9-4200 9 Channel 960H Digital Video Recorder and 4 x PRO-642 Cameras
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Product, easy to hook up.

PostedJune 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Expertise:Beginner
I bought this product 1 week ago, because it was broken in to my neighbors house, with the alarm we have, they can still break a window and come in and out without setting the alarm [cant turn the motion sensors on because of the 4 cats we have]. with this system we feel much safer especially when we are gone for a few days. it is easy to set up, most of the work is running the wire. I tested the cameras first before I mounted them. Works great, just follow the instructions, the same with adding it on to the I phone [remote access]. This system was up and running in a few hours [like I said most of the work is running the wire]. The cameras are awesome, of course I would have liked to get an HD system, but it was a little out of my range [money wise]. we are watching the monitor constantly while we are watching TV, lots of fun.
I recommend this product any day.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for DVR9-4200 9 Channel 960H Digital Video Recorder and 4 x PRO-642 Cameras
Based on the average of (35) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
4.1 / 5
4.1 / 5
31 out of 35 recommend this product