Customer reviews for Swann PRO-642 - Multi-Purpose Day/Night Security Camera - Night Vision 85ft / 25m

Swann PRO-642 - Multi-Purpose Day/Night Security Camera - Night Vision 85ft / 25m

700 TV Lines high video quality / 85ft 25m excellent night vision / Cable threaded through stand for additional security / Weather proof IP67 casing / 60ft 18m BNC cable / Easily connects to your TV and DVR
Overall rating:
3.905 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
3
17 out of 2181%of reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for PRO-642 - Multi-Purpose Day/Night Security Camera - Night Vision 85ft / 25m
Review 1 for PRO-642 - Multi-Purpose Day/Night Security Camera - Night Vision 85ft / 25m
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Like the cable mounted osd control

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Customer avatar
From:Chicago, IL, USA
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I really like that Swann has put the OSD control on the camera close to the camera. It makes adjusting the camera so much easier and you do not have to run an extra wire to a Rs485 control as you do with the pro681 and pro781. If your install doesn't allow you to leave it exposed, ie inside an open garage, then run the wire and control inside a junction box before running the wire through a wall where you do not have access. If you use a junction box arrangement, you do not have to disconnect the camera to use the cable mounted OSD control. Thanks Swann really like the change. PS if you download your cameras to your phone or tablet, take the device with you to the camera an adjust the camera while on your ladder. Do not forget there may be a wireless delay in receiving the signal so take your time and you will be very happy with the results. Thanks again Swann for listening to yr customers and making this improvement.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PRO-642 - Multi-Purpose Day/Night Security Camera - Night Vision 85ft / 25m
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent technical support for this system.

PostedDecember 5, 2013
Customer avatar
From:West Chester, PA, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I had several issues with the system requiring some troubleshooting on my part and with technical support assistance via the phone. Together we were able to determine my issue was with two 60 foot cables that had bad connections on the BNC connector part of the cable, causing intermittent loss of video. Once we determined this, the two replacement cables were sent and received by me within 5 business days and I was able to continue.
My second issue involved excessive curvature of the camera image on one of my four cameras. The others had slight curvature, or fisheye effects at the top and bottom of the image, but not as bad. After emailing technical support and sending pictures of the issue and comparing them with the other camera images, they issued an RMA number for me to return it in exchange for another new one. I am in the process of waiting for the new one.
Technical support was very responsive to my needs, and I have used phone support, email support and on-line chat support successfully.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PRO-642 - Multi-Purpose Day/Night Security Camera - Night Vision 85ft / 25m
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Taking it back to the store ASAP

PostedNovember 22, 2013
Customer avatar
From:Texas, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I was having a horrible time with failing equipment on a Swann 8-channel DVR with 600 tvl cameras (the monitor outputs on the DVR failed, several cameras failed, all within 4 months). The Swann warranty and tech support personnel are the worst I've ever dealt with due to their very rough English and outright rudeness. I finally convinced a store to allow me to return the junk and allow me to pay the difference between that system and an upgraded set with a 9 channel DVR and (4# 700 tvl cameras #PRO-642). I was excited to have the higher res cameras until I got home and attempted to make use of them. The picture is substantially noisier and more washed-out looking than the cheaper cameras were. Also, some genius decided to put the OSD control on the cable a foot away from the camera, so you have to either leave the cable hanging outside to access it, or uninstall the camera and pull the cable out of the wall to reach it. Also, out of the 4 cams, only 1 will allow me to open the OSD screen to make changes to the cameras' settings. I am convinced: SWANN is garbage. Do not be fooled by the warranty, as it takes an act of congress, and you paying the shipping to get cheap, faulty parts replaced. I must also mention that with the 600 tvl and the 700 tvl cameras, the image quality is so poor that the police cannot use it to prove who is being recorded until they are within 10-15 feet of the camera. License plate numbers are completely blurred out at 30 feet in daylight. I am returning this set and will not be purchasing another Swann product.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PRO-642 - Multi-Purpose Day/Night Security Camera - Night Vision 85ft / 25m
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

JUNK

PostedOctober 20, 2013
Customer avatar
From:Des Moines, IA, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Expertise:Expert
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Terrible night vision looks like a blizard is going on outside the noise from the IR's is so bad. Day time still not DVD quality alot of pixelating going on in the picture. Was very disappointed in the quality of the picture these camera's produced even had a friend put one on his system and it did the same thing. Also hooked it up directly to a 50" Samsung TV the picture looked like it was recorded 20 years ago on a VHS tape.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PRO-642 - Multi-Purpose Day/Night Security Camera - Night Vision 85ft / 25m
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very Good 700 TV line camera

PostedAugust 31, 2013
Customer avatar
From:Philadelphia, PA, USA
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
4 of the 642s came with the 9ch 4200 DVR system I bought to replace an inferior lower priced system. Day and nite picture is incredible. Area coverage very good. Adjustability very good. Nite vision range very good. Use DVR HDMI port and TV picture looks great. Picture over the internet or smartphone/tablet looks great. All around money well spent for the increase in quality.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PRO-642 - Multi-Purpose Day/Night Security Camera - Night Vision 85ft / 25m
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible Picture Quality

PostedAugust 19, 2013
Customer avatar
From:Birmingham, AL, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Expertise:Expert
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The quality of picture on this camera is horrendous. While Swann makes some remarkable products, this is perhaps one of their worst. The lines of resolution are useless, especially in a large open space. I had some of these installed for outside my home which covered large outside areas.....what a piece of junk.....the 80 feet of night vision is more like 3 feet.....I would definitely recommend some of Swann's other Pro series cameras such as the Pro - 680 or SHD 870. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PRO-642 - Multi-Purpose Day/Night Security Camera - Night Vision 85ft / 25m
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Correction to mr I don't read the manual

PostedJuly 29, 2013
Customer avatar
From:Australia
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Expertise:Expert
Yes you can adjust the mount in all directions, read the manual. There are 3 points to loosen, the camera, the hinge and the locking nut. Loosen all 3 and the camera will face any direction..
The cable goes through the bracket so it cannot be cut, it is a design feature.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PRO-642 - Multi-Purpose Day/Night Security Camera - Night Vision 85ft / 25m
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Good camera; poor design

PostedJune 30, 2013
Customer avatar
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Bought mine at Best Buy the other night. Set it on the counter and immediately realized it had no ball joint mounting system (like my old Walmart Swann camera), which to me seemed to make it impossible to direct the camera like I wanted to.
I had my old camera mounted to a brick wall above the garage, pointed down and at the 2 o'clock position to catch people coming down my street and into the driveway -- but with this camera, all I could figure out was how to adjust it up and down. It had no left or right positioning -- which is why I love the ball joints on the other cameras.
But what made it worse was in my attempt to figure out how to adjust it left or right (which apparently there wasn't any), the screws on the mount were quickly stripped out, and I mean quickly.
So with in 5 minutes (no joke) of setting the camera on my counter and tinkering with it, it was ruined, because now the screws wouldn't hold the camera in position. Just sat there dangling and with a little tug I could yank the screws right out, even after trying to gently tighten them.
I was like okay, that's no biggie. On the bottom and also on the back of the this camera it has holes where I can use the ball joint mount that I used for my old camera. But here's the kicker in the pants. The mounting system on this camera cannot be taken off. The camera wire runs through the mounting system and the holes are too small to slip the built-in OSD controller through.
So here I am with a useless camera. The picture quality is great for the price, but the mounting system is extremely flawed.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-2points
7of 16voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for PRO-642 - Multi-Purpose Day/Night Security Camera - Night Vision 85ft / 25m
Based on the average of (13) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
4.5 / 5
4.5 / 5
13 out of 13 recommend this product